

#### **Sutherland Shire Cricket Association Inc**

(ABN 99 793 660 400)

President: Noel Taplin Secretary: Michael Mooney 33 Dolans Road

WOOLOOWARE NSW 2230

email secretary@sutherlandshireca.com.au

phone: 0409 031 583

# 77<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting 8<sup>th</sup> July 2024

## Meeting commenced at 7:04 pm

Meeting chaired by Kevin McGrath (President SSCA)

Welcome by Chairperson

# **Apologies**

Neil Croker, Col Hobman, Matt Thomas

#### **Proxies**

Cronulla Seagulls – Riley Leighton, Binh Thai and Cameron Mackenzie (held by Michael Mooney) Caringbah Inn Bulls – Derek Laylim and Andrew Wilson (held by Mitch Reidy)

### Attendees

Lists attached

## Minutes of previous Annual general meeting

Minute of the 76<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting distributed to Secretaries and Delegates prior to meeting. Moved by Andrea Handley that the minutes of the 76<sup>th</sup> Annual General Meeting held 3<sup>rd</sup> July 2023 be taken as read, seconded Allan Lofthouse. **Carried unanimously**.

# **Annual Report and Financial Statements**

Reports from the President, Secretary, and Competition Manager/Recorder will be presented in the Annual Report and published online on the Association website.

Moved Warren Dess and seconded Mitch Reidy that the Financial Reports distributed prior to the meeting be accepted.

Carried unanimously.



#### **Presentations**

#### **Premiers**

- A1 St Patrick's (presented at GF)
- A2 Gymea Bay
- B1 Cronulla Seagulls
- B2 Bangor Comets
- B3 Illawong Menai (presented at GF)
- B4 St John Bosco
- B5 St Patrick's
- C1 St Patrick's

#### Individual Awards

Batting Aggregate and Average – Jackson Turner (Bangor Comets B2)

Bowling Aggregate and All Rounder - Robbie Hoffmann (St Patrick's B5)

Bowling Average – Nipuna Cooray (St Patrick'sC1)

Wicket Keeper (aeq) – Garth Brooker (Illawong Menai B4)

Wicket Keeper (aeq) – Laurence Ang (Bangor Comets C1)

Player of the A1 Final

The Vince Ridge Memorial Medal – William Rolfe (St Patrick's) (presented at GF)

SSCA Best Performance Trophy - Brody Harwin (Como Jannali A2)

# **Election of Executive Members**

The President acted as Returning Officer for the election for the vacant positions of Executive Members of the SSCA.

The following persons had nominated for positions prior to the commencement of the meeting, there were no further nomination from those in attendance, and were declared elected to the positions shown:-

President – Kevin McGrath Senior Vice President – Warren Dess Honorary Secretary – Michael Mooney

Honorary Assistant Secretary

& Webmaster – Mitch Reidy Honorary Treasurer – Andrea Handley

Honorary Competition

Manager / Recorder – Allan Lofthouse

As there were no nominations for the positions of Junior Vice President prior to the meeting. Nominations were called from the meeting. No nominations were received and the position was declared vacant. May be filled by the incoming Management Committee.

## **Election of Committee Members**

Two nominations were received for the position(s) of Committee Member and they were declared elected.

Committee – Col Hobman Committee – Matt Berkley



There were no nominations for the third Committee position prior to the meeting. Nominations were called from the meeting. No nominations were received and the position was declared vacant. May be filled by the incoming Management Committee.

## **Election of Auditor**

No nominations were received. Andrea Handley to contact current Auditor (Davyd Berry). SSCA Management Committee to appoint Auditor.

The incoming Management Committee will consider the position of Patron.

# General

Notice received from St Patrick's

- 1. More leniency re players being able to drop down -suggest between the 1's and 2's all should be eligible max 2 to drop
  - Will be considered by the incoming Management Committee and can be decided within the current Playing Conditions
- Leg side wides in one dayers in the 1's and 2's
   Cannot be decided solely by the SSCA Management Committee needs consultation and input from the Sutherland Shire Cricket Umpires Association
  - Concerns with duty umpires decisions and ability to adjudicate. To be considered by the incoming Management Committee
- 3 One dayers to be pushed to 35 overs maybe but not 40 Again has been considered over the past 3 seasons general consensus was to remain at 30.
- 4. Free hit no ball In 1's / 2's one dayers
  Cannot be decided solely by the SSCA Management Committee needs consultation and input from the Sutherland Shire Cricket Umpires Association

As there are no matters for decision regarding the upcoming season the Adjourned Annual General Meeting scheduled for 22<sup>nd</sup> July 2024 will not be held.

There were "lucky draw" prizes for Kookaburra bats donated by Kookaburra Sports.

The winners were Loftus, St Patrick's. St John Bosco, Bangor Comets and Caringbah Inn Bulls.

Meeting closed 7:24pm

MICHAEL MOONEY
SECRETARY

KEVIN McGrath

President

